A Presence In The Corner

homeless

 I am the man who ignored you in the street

One of multiple cast iron faces hissing cool air

In a swarming sea of indifferent absorption

A shade of pretending to your suffering

 ~

I am the man who should kneel in your place in regret

Whose heart turned bitter and disconnected

Against a moment of realisation that I could never erase my passing

Leaving an imprint of my ignorance drying tenderly in place

 ~

The faces and eyes gaze and glaze and gloss over

The point where mind and spirit cross over

I feel your poverty cling to the greatest riches in your eyes

I feel your complexity against the simpleness of our lies

 ~

Giving us joy so you seldom receive

Living humbly for us so we don’t have to believe

Cleaning our blackened minds and our clothes that deceive

Our torn up shirts and hearts on our sleeve

 ~

Praying for crumbs while we take your possessions

In shelter of mind you have my affection

With a return to replace cruelly snatched protection

Please be shielded from our misjudgment, misgiving, misdirection

 ~

We have lost our human way, you have found the human plight

We live the ego dream til we awake to loving light

I return to the site against the swarming passing throng

I come to find you, feed you, know you, give my soul but you have gone

~

by Richard Parr

humanembodiment.com

10 thoughts on “A Presence In The Corner

  1. Beautiful and pretty moving lines, these!
    I do love how your empathy for the “ignore[d]” or marginalised person[s] in the crowds we pass through shines through in these carefully written lines, with your clearly-set rhymes giving it a definite structure.

    As an aside, I could not resist sharing the joy I got from the last line of your fourth stanza – I guess you might have well intended this, but I do love that reference to Iago’s line of “wear[ing] [his] heart upon [his] sleeve” from Shakespeare’s “Othello”! Great choice!

    And may I trouble you a little further by suggesting a wonderful literary read, which deals greatly with the human condition, its need for love and truth namely, “The Giver” by Lois Lowry?
    If you have not read it yet, I am sure you would enjoy this (dystopic but beautiful all the same) gem.

    Thank you for sharing this lovely poem.
    Do keep writing and take care, my friend. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    • Thank you so much for taking the time to read my poem. I truly appreciate it, and thank you for the advice too. I will check out The Giver. Deepak Chopra’s ‘The Path To Love’ is influencing my work at the moment. It is a life changing book!! All the best to you too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Most practical sentiment. Lovely words. Passionate.

    I believe the USA sold our soul back in the 1980’s when our society bought into the concept that the rich do not deserve having to pay taxes, and the poor don’t deserve to be helped.

    I have watched this sentiment grow and crystallize over these past 30 years in my beloved homeland to the extent that the marginalized many who are suffering are inflicted with being treated shamefully by a culture who has turned our back on them; and now actually maligns them in their misery.

    I salute the writer of this poem. You allow the marginalized the dignity to hold their head up and ask for help.

    Maybe one day our cynical society will once again feel to the extent that we bow our heads in shame.

    Poverty is not shameful.

    A society allowing the subtle maltreatment of the marginalized miserable is shameful tho.

    Cheers, and peace out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Both our societies have encouraged this rampant ignorance of observing the needs of the poor. Your last line speaks volumes friend. Thank you so much for dropping by and reading my poem. It is much appreciated. Love and light to you, your friends and family. All the very best.

      Rich 🙂

      Like

Please feel free to share your thoughts! I'd love to hear from you :)

